3 Impressive Awards Toyota Won in 2017

January 18th, 2018 by

Best Mid-Size Truck of Texas

Not to be outdone by the Toyota Camry, the 2017 Toyota Tacoma has received a lot of well-deserved recognition, too. The 2017 Toyota Tacoma TRD Pro was awarded the Mid-size Pickup Truck of Texas award by the Texas Auto Writers Association (TAWA) at the 2016 Texas Truck Rodeo.

There is a good reason that the Toyota Tacoma has been America’s best-selling mid-size pickup truck for ten years in a row. It easily handles all kinds of difficult off-road challenges, like the ones at the Texas Truck Rodeo event. The Tacoma TRD Pro also impressed the TAWA voters with its long list of remarkable features, such as its front springs with one-inch lift, 16-inch black alloy wheels with Goodyear Wrangler All-Terrain Kevlar-reinforced tires, and an extraordinary rear suspension that makes for a smooth ride.

From safety, to reliability, to fuel efficiency, Toyota has been turning heads and winning awards from the beginning. If you are looking for a dependable, safe, fun to drive vehicle, Toyota is perfect for you. We invite you into the dealership to look at your options and take one for a test drive today.

Most Dependable Vehicle by J.D. Powers

When choosing a new vehicle, dependability is one of the most important factors to consider. The 2017 J.D. Powers Vehicle Dependability Study surveyed 35,186 original owner respondents about problems with their vehicle over the last 12 months, and the Toyota Camry had the least amount of problems in mid-sized cars.

Top Safety Pick by Insurance Institute of Highway Safety

The 2017 Camry received a number of prestigious awards, including the Top Safety Pick by the IIHS, the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. This award applied to 2017 Camry models equipped with halogen headlights and the Pre-Collision System (also called PCS). In fact, for the third year in a row, Toyota has been the top safety pick by the IIHS, and an astounding twelve Toyota and Lexus vehicles received IIHS awards in 2017. Nine of these models received its highest honor, the Top Safety Pick+, more than any other vehicle manufacturer.

To receive the coveted 2017 Top Safety Pick award, vehicles were required to earn high ratings in five crashworthiness tests, including small overlap front, moderate overlap front, roof strength, side, and head restraints. They also had to receive a superior rating for front crash prevention.

Winners of the more prestigious Top Safety Pick+ award were also required to have strong ratings in these five crash-worthiness tests. However, they also had to earn an advanced rating for front crash prevention, and a good or better rating for their headlights.

Posted in Toyota